from "Daily Reflections" by A.A. Members for A.A. Members

No Regrets

We will not regret the past nor wish to shut the door on it. ~ ALCOHOLICS ANONYMOUS, p. 83

Once I became sober, I began to see how wasteful my life had been and I experienced overwhelming guilt and feelings of regret. The program’s Fourth and Fifth Steps assisted me enormously in healing those troubling regrets. I learned that my self-centeredness and dishonesty stemmed largely from my drinking and that I drank because I was an alcoholic. Now I see how even my most distasteful past experiences can turn to gold because, as a sober alcoholic, I can share them to help my fellow alcoholics, particularly newcomers. Sober for several years in A.A., I no longer regret the past; I am simply grateful to be conscious of God’s love and of the help I can give to others in the Fellowship. 

Comments on: "No Regrets" (1)

  1. Ive been sober for over four years now. And i totally know what you mean. I think God uses our testimonies of success as a beacon of light for others who are deep in the clutches of this horrible condition. Will totally pray for you and hope you can be an inspiration for many others!!

Leave a Reply

